News & Events





Not a Member?
Become One Now!

Sign up today for a free WebPass membership

U.S. Congress Gains Two Italian-Americans

Italian-American Congressional Caucus Gains Two Members in the House, Keeps Most Incumbents

Contact: Diane Crespy, 202/547-2900

Washington, D.C., Nov. 10, 1998 - Italian Americans gained two new seats in the House of Representatives and kept most incumbents in the House and Senate, results from last Tuesday's elections show.

The additions to the House are Mike Thompson (D-Calif.) and Michael Capuano (D-Mass.). Bob Brady (D-Pa.), who was elected in a special election on May 19 to fill the seat formerly held by U.S. Ambassador to Italy Thomas Foglietta, was also elected to his first full term in Congress.

All Italian-American incumbent congressmen were re-elected, except Vic Fazio (D-Calif.) who did not seek another term. Current House members include George Miller (D-Calif.), Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), James Rogan (R-Calif.), Diana DeGette (D-Colo.), Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.), John Mica (R-Fla.), David Weldon (R-Fla.), Jerry Costello (D-Ill.), Donald Manzullo (R-Ill.), John Baldacci (D-Maine), Connie Morella (R-Md.), Joe Moakley (D-Mass.), Bruce Vento (D-Minn.), James Oberstar (D-Minn.), Frank LoBiondo (R-N.J.), Marge Roukema (R-N.J.), Frank Pallone (D-N.J.), William Pascrell (D-N.J.), Rick Lazio (R-N.Y.), Vito Fossella (R-N.Y.), John LaFalce (D-N.Y.), James Traficant, Jr., (D-Ohio), Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.), John Murtha (D-Pa.), Frank Mascara (D-Pa.), Mike Doyle (D-Pa.), and Nick Lampson (D-Texas).

The caucus lost a seat in the Senate, with only two of the six sitting Italian-American senators up for re-election this term. Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) held onto his seat, while Sen. Alfonse D'Amato (R-N.Y.) lost to Charles Schumer. The four senators that were not up for re-election were Peter Dominici (R-N.M.), Michael Enzi (R-Wyo.), Rick Santorum (R-Pa.), and Robert Torricelli (D-N.J.).

Additionally, the only two Italian-American governors were re-elected - Paul Cellucci (R-Mass.) and George Pataki (R-N.Y.).